ANNE K. ALBERT

Anne’s bio: Anne K. Albert has taught high school art, sold display advertising for a small town weekly newspaper, and worked for a national brand water company, but now writes full time.

A member of the Romance Writers of America, Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and married to her high school sweetheart for more than a quarter of a century, it’s a given she’d write mystery and romantic suspense.

When not in her home office, she enjoys traveling, visiting friends and family, knitting, crocheting, and of course, reading.

Jennifer – What do you write?

Anne – I write stories chill the spine, warm the heart and soothe the soul – all with a delightful touch of humor.

Jennifer – Where do you live, and what does your work space look like?

Anne – I live in a part of the country that has four very distinct seasons, but for as long as I can remember I’ve always longed to be a bird and fly south each fall! Spending the winter months in a warmer climate is number one on my bucket list.

As for my home office, well, in my mind it’s organized confusion. I lie to myself daily and assure myself I know exactly where every thing is. Most everyone else, however, would simply call it a mess!

Jennifer – When do you generally write? Do you have a regimen?

Anne – Regimen? I wish! Since becoming published, I’m amazed how much time is spent on self promotion and marketing. I try to limit that task to mornings, but I’m not always successful. Actual writing time is done in the afternoon, with time off for dinner, followed by another session each evening.

Jennifer – How do you write? Do you outline? Or fly by the seat of your pants? Do you like silence or rock out to a certain soundtrack?

Anne –I work in complete silence, and I’m very much a pantser.

It took me a very long time to accept this process. I wanted to find an easier way to write. I tried outlining. Even did it for two manuscripts. I included loads of details, twists and turns, but when it came time to write those stories, I couldn’t get into it. It took years for me to figure out why. The answer? I already knew how it would end! Where’s the fun in that? I realized I’m my first reader. I write to find out what happens next.

Jennifer – Tell us about your book. What was it? When did it come out? Got any awards to brag about?

Anne – FRANK, INCENSEANDMURIEL is set the week before Christmas when the stress of the holidays is enough to frazzle anyone’s nerves. Tensions increase when a close friend begs Muriel to team up with a sexy private investigator to find a missing woman. Forced to deal with an embezzler, kidnapper, and femme fatale is bad enough, but add Muriel’s zany yet loveable family to the mix and their desire to win the D-DAY(Death Defying Act of the Year) Award, and the situation can only get worse.

It received a 5-star review and Reviewer Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews. Reviewer Diana Coyle said, “This is one of the best romantic suspense stories I’ve read for 2010. Ms. Albert has a way of telling a story that pulls you in from the very first sentence and holds your attention to the very last line. Her voice is melodic and her writing style is refreshing. This author knows how to entertain readers and keeps them wanting to turn the page to see what happens next. If you’re looking for a story with a little bit of humor, a whole lot of suspense and plenty of insanity, then you’ve found the perfect story.”                                       

Jennifer – Where can readers get a copy of your book?

Anne: It’s at Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Frank-Incense-and-Muriel-ebook/dp/B004CLYDRO/

Barnes and Noble, http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Frank-Incense-and-Muriel/Anne-K-Albert/e/2940011142123/ Smashwords, http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/30192

or from my publisher, Vanilla Heart Publishing. http://www.vanillaheartbooksandauthors.com

 

Thank you so much, Jennifer, for welcoming me with open arms on my second stop of the Murder We Write Blog Tour. I’d like to invite readers to visit my website http://www.AnneKAlbert.com/ or my main blog http://anne-k-albert.blogspot.com.

 

If they drop by my Muriel Reeves Mysteries blog http://muriel-reeves-mysteries.blogspot.com and leave a comment mentioning this interview, I’ll enter their name in a draw to win a pdf copy of FRANK, INCENSEAND MURIEL. I’ll announce the winner at the conclusion of the tour, sometime during the week ofAugust 22, 2011.

9 Responses to “ANNE K. ALBERT”

  1. Anne K. Albert Says:

    Thank you so much for featuring me today, Jennifer! It’s an absolute joy to take part in the Mystery We Write Blog Tour with so many incredible mystery and suspense authors!

  2. Vivian Zabel Says:

    Isn’t it fun to learn more and more about each other? Thanks, Jennifer, for helping us know Anne better.

    Vivian

  3. Seniorsleuth@aol.com Says:

    A nice interview, Jennifer and Anne, and one I enjoyed. I’m sure I’ll enjoy your work as well.

  4. Marja McGraw Says:

    Very nice interview, and again, I so enjoy learning more about some of my favorite authors. Now to find the time to read.

  5. Marilyn Meredith Says:

    Hi, Anne, I love learning more about you week by week. I’ve been wondering if any of your high school students have read your books. It’s always fun to hear from people you didn’t expect who’ve read and enjoyed your books. In any case, loved the interview.

    Marilyn

  6. Jackie King Says:

    Anne, the more I learn about you the more I’d like to meet you. And for sure I want to read your book!

    And that bucket list of yours! Such interesting things. How big is your bucket?

    Hugs,
    Jackie

  7. Pat Browning Says:

    Anne, your book sounds great. Good luck with it. Enjoyed the interview. Organized chaos, indeed! But at least you say you know where everything is. I spend half my time looking for stuff!
    Pat Browning

  8. Sharon Ervin Says:

    Another great blog from the Mystery We Write bunch. I’m loving these.

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

