Interview with Margaret Blake

Who are you?

 Hi I’m Margaret Blake and having been writing for over twenty years. Mainly contemporary romance nowadays. Old in years, young in heart, and still feeling that romance is the best thing ever! I love to go out walking, that’s when I can really get to think about the story and my characters.

What do you write?

Contemporary romance – spicey rather than erotic and historical romance but not too much of that these days.

Where do you live, and what does your work space look like? (No address, please. Just generalizations. You know.)

I live on the coast in the north of England. my work space is a small room, I have a computer on a table and all the paraphernalia, various dictionaries on the window ledge and shelves of books around me. I like to have everything to hand should I need to check something. I am terrible and cannot throw anything away, the filing cabinet has drawers that won’t close because of all the junk.  One of these days I will do something about that…like I said, one of these days…

When do you generally write? Do you have a regimen?

I try to write every afternoon but you know life gets in the way – especially if you are a woman and are expected to multi task.

How do you write? Do you outline? Or fly by the seat of your pants? Do you like silence or rock out to a certain soundtrack?

I fly by the seat of my pants, I tell you it gets frightening at times because I have no way of knowing where this damned thing I am writing is giong. Sometimes I like a bit of soft music but generally I prefer quiet. If I play rock then I will be up dancing around instead of dancing. That’s why I have to force myself not to put on Mika’s Grace Kelly track, then I really forget all about my work. 

Got anything to brag about? (Awards? Upcoming releases?)

Well my novel Eden’s Child was the No.l best seller at Whiskey Creek Press in March. It is, I believe, also being recommended at a local high school as a good read,.  Also have another book out in September and one just waiting to get out of the trap and run for it.

What are you working on at the moment? Tell us what it is and why you think it’s gonna be a “gotta have” k

At the moment a thriller, it caused me anguish because I am a romance writer, but I tell you, this last week it has started to sing and I am getting there. I think it is to do with my male character who is one helluva a guy, I am madly in love with him myself…

Tell us how to find you and your stuff. (All your website and blog links)

Check out my website www.margaretblake.co.uk and I also have a my space,  but that is such a mess because I still haven’t found how to work my way around it and I am always busy doing something else more interesting. But you never know, if I can persuade one of my grandkids to help out that might improve – one day!

2 Responses to “Interview with Margaret Blake”

  1. margaret blake Says:

    Hi Jennifer, I saw this and wanted to say thanks again, have been mailing it to a few friends.

    Again thanks for the opportunity and best wishes,

    Margaret Blake.

  2. Home Improvement Journal Says:

    Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

