Interview with Pauline Jones

Who are you?

Pauline Baird Jones, author of eight novels of romantic, sometimes
humorous peril.

What do you write?
  
Anything that strikes my fancy, but always with peril. That’s why I call my website The Perils of Pauline. 🙂

Where do you live, and what does your work space look like? (No address, please. Just generalizations. You know.)
  
I live in Houston, TX. We moved here four years ago from New Orleans (where we lived for 18 years), but I’m originally from Wyoming and still consider that “home.” My work space is messy and disorganized. It’s not that I like it that way, I just can’t seem to find the right “system” for me. When it gets annoying (or hot), I move downstairs and use my lap top.

The view from living room is onto our patio. Our jasmine is in full
bloom and its very peaceful and lovely.
When do you generally write? Do you have a regimen?
  
I don’t write every day unless I’m deep in a book. When that happens,
I’ll write for hours, sometimes until I can’t feel the tips of my
fingers. But my “usual” day involves a lot of thinking, a bit of
promoting, some Solitaire, chocolate and Diet Dr. Pepper.

How do you write? Do you outline? Or fly by the seat of your pants? Do you like silence or rock out to a certain soundtrack?
  
I definitely fly by the seat of my pants. I like to load songs onto my iPod that I think my character would like, then I turn it on and use the music to pull me back into the story. The music tends to filter into the story, but I go back and take it out. I just like to let it all spill out onto the page, whether it’s music, story or food. Then I edit. A lot.

Got anything to brag about? (Awards? Upcoming releases?)
  
I’m excited to have received two Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice
awards, an Eppie, and the Dorothy Parker award. Also have a new book releasing this year, called THE KEY. I had such a great time writing this book, I’m hoping my readers will like it, too.

What are you working on at the moment? Tell us what it is and why you think it’s gonna be a “gotta have” k?
  
I’m mulling a sequel to THE KEY. One of the guys from THE KEY is pissed he didn’t get the girl and he’s been stalking me ever since, wanting to be a hero and get a girl. Men.

Tell us how to find you and your stuff. (All your website and blog links)
  
http://www.paulinebjones.com/
http://paulinebjones.livejournal.com/
http://worldsapage.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

